Sphere & Loathing in Las Vegas (Finale)

~ Day 5 and on – Epilogue and Retrospect ~

“Life may be sweeter for this,
I don’t know,
See how it feels in the end.”

– Robert Hunter

After returning to Massachusetts, I spent one day at home and then drove up to Maine, which is starting to become more like home than actual home is. I generally spend these rides catching up on NBA podcasts or listening to what ever meh 2021 show the DJ’s on Phish Radio decide to spin, but this time it was all Dead. I got caught up in a show from ’78 and played it loud and proud while flying up 95 under the cover of stars.

I have a fairly strong concert schedule for the rest of the year, but for the first time in a very, very long time I will not be seeing a member of the Grateful Dead playing outside this summer. And that got me thinking. And those thoughts made me profoundly sad. I’m 45. I’ve had this music for my entire life. It was there waiting for me to find it, and when I did, it became an overpowering part of my life. I went searching for the sound and in doing so I found the country and purpose. Seeking out these songs has taken me places I never would have gone if not for the fact Bobby or Phil were playing there.

I feel like there’s probably still something left in the tank. I want to believe that. But for the first time really, on that drive to Maine, I recognized the opportunities are now most certainly limited.

I wouldn’t trade any of the shows I’ve seen for anything in the world. And next time I will be there will bells on.

“They’re not the best at what they do, they’re the only ones that do what they do.”|
– Bill Graham

Leave a comment